Possible treatments

I read Jenny McCarthy’s book.  Her son went through many of the same things mine did.  I looked into some of the things she mentioned.  I started researching DAN medicine philosophy.  There was some valuable information, and other things I had no desire to try.  I always prefer prevention and natural medicine over drug therapy, although I am not opposed to using medications.  I use them for my own autoimmune disease and allergies.  The most promising treatments were:

  • Fish oil
  • Vitamin D3
  • Curcumin
  • B vitamins
  • Probiotics
  • Getting seizures under control
  • Magnesium and Epsom salt baths
  • Blood tests for PANDAS and gluten antibodies
  • Behavior and sensory therapy
  • Possibly gluten free/ casein free diet

Other ideas I wanted to explore were neuroimmunology, helminth therapy, gut flora, mitochondrial disease, oral tolerance, IVIG, and mucosal vaccines.

It was frustrating to me that some of the DAN practitioners embraced very unscientific ideas and felt they should always go all out to help the patients (mostly children) at the expense of the families.  Also, the claims that treatments could really help or even cure autism put blame on the parents if they couldn’t do all the treatments for their kids, and insinuates that having autism is a really bad thing.  When the autistic person who is not suffering physically from the disease might be perfectly happy and have great gifts to contribute to society.  I even consider myself to be an Aspie.  I was unable to communicate effectively with others as a child.  I still have a difficult time using appropriate body language and making eye contact.  It’s much better now that I am an adult.  I hope to pass my coping and communication skills on to my son so he doesn’t have to have the same problems I did.  And my preoccupation with science is now paying off.  I love my job and am good at it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

